History of The Durban July

Horses racing at the Durban July Handicap

A Brief History of the Durban July 

The Durban July Handicap was first held in July 1897 at a distance of 1 mile (approx 1600m). The distance increased over the years until 1970 when it was set to the current 2200m. The purse is currently a whopping R4.25 million.

The Durban July has grown in prestige to become one of the top events to attend on South Africa’s sporting calendar. Due to the fashion show and entertainment element that has evolved with the event, it is also now THE fashion and entertainment extravaganza where everybody wants to be seen.

Notable Achievements

Horses who won the race back-to-back
Campanajo (1897 and 1898)
Corriecrian (1907 and 1908)
Milesia Pride (1949 and 1950)
El Picha (1999 and 2000)

Trainers with the most wins
Sydney C. Laird – 7 wins: 1961, 1963, 1966, 1967, 1971, 1973, 1978
Terence M. Millard – 6 wins: 1983, 1984, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1990
Trainer F. Murray won the race four years in a row from 1910 through 1913.

Do It Again Winner Durban July
Jockey of horse Do It Again wins

Jockeys with the most wins
Harold “Tiger” Wright – 4 wins: 1942, 1947, 1949, 1955
Anton Marcus – 4 wins: 1993, 2000, 2005, 2007
Bertie Hayden – 3 wins: 1971, 1973, 1978
Felix Coetzee – 3 wins: 1984, 1988, 1990

Book Hotel and Hospitality Packages

Out of stock

Hotels in Durban

Zimbali Resort

Out of stock

Hotels in Durban

Riverside Hotel

Out of stock
Out of stock
Out of stock
Out of stock